Trotterville Horror
Date attended: 10-18-2014
Submitted by: weresheep


Scare Factor: 5/5
This place is an adventure.  It’s a long trail with a wide variety of different sets and things to explore.  There are plenty of places where you can be distracted by one thing only to be scared by another. We never knew what to expect next. In more than one room we were trapped and only allowed to exit when shown which way to go which was great at disorienting our group. The whole place gives a feel of being trapped in a horror movie with no escape.


Actors: 4/5
They have a great number of actors all appropriately placed which is impressive for such a long haunt. The actors are very in your face and play each character well. The characters in the carnival give that demented jovial vibe and the junkyard hillbillies actual looked like someone you’d see in such a place. Some spaces that could have used a good scare lacked an actor, such as the building after the junkyard and a campground area. 


Set Design/Props/FX: 5/5
Trotterville is excellent at “working with what they have”.  A lot of the sets are simple yet so wonderfully organized that it gives it an even creepier vibe. The whole thing gives you that dirty, grimy feeling. They have the works, a crazy hillbilly junkyard complete with trash can fires, a blackout maze, corn field and even a creepy carnival with games. There were several well placed and very unsettling props throughout. However, the end was a bit lacking. My favorite thing though was the area with the bunnies. I have been waiting to see a haunt use animals somewhere.  It amplified that nasty feel even further and gave you a feeling that they might just throw you in a cage too!


Length: 5/5
At a mile and a half long, it’s definitely one of the longest haunts but it’s not a difficult trek. There are few dull spots and it seems like you are walking further and further into madness.


Value: 5/5
Ticket prices range from $20 to $15 and they also have coupons and special pricing available. You definitely get the full experience here and it’s worth it.


Overall: 5/5
This was my favorite last year and it’s even better this year. It’s long, gritty and has an old school feel to it that makes you feel like you stepped into a movie. Even waiting in line here was a pleasure. Be prepared for an exciting adventure with relentless actors in a horrifying environment.
 .
Haunt Name:  Trotterville Horror Attraction
Date Attended:  October 16th, 2014
Submitted By: Bethyboo


Scare Factor 5/5
This is an “old school” style haunted attraction.  They make great use of the woods and have many actors hidden throughout the attraction to scare you when you least expect it.  The trail is very dark and you cannot anticipate where the scares are going to come from.  The front of our group received the most startle scares, but no one was safe in Trotterville.  


Actors 5/5
These actors have energy and lots of it!  They are great at interacting with the groups and detecting who is most scared and targeting them.  There are no guides on the walk through the woods, and actors (monsters) are everywhere.  There were some relentless monsters in the corn maze and you won’t get out until they are ready for you to. No actor broke character, and that really adds to the fear factor and makes this group of actor’s top notch.
 
Set Design/FX/Prop 4.5/5
This haunt relies on the outside elements to pull off a lot of the scares. There were some new sets for 2014 which really add to the overall attraction.   There were a few new automated props in this attraction that were unexpected and plenty of “live action” as you make your way through.


Length 5/5
This is a very long trail so be prepared for plenty of walking. It takes about 45 minutes to walk through the attraction. 


Value 5/5
The cost of this attraction is between $15-$20 dollars depending on which night you attend.  They also provide a discount for Fire, EMT, or Police and free for military with proper ID. There are also some discount coupons on their website.  I think this attraction is an incredible value because it has great scares, the length is good and the prices are reasonable. 


Other 5/5
There is free parking at this attraction and has concessions if interested.


Overall Impression 5/5
This attraction has it all.  If you are looking for great scares, in an “old school” haunt setting, Trotterville Horror is a must see haunted attraction.  This haunt is a great value and still has the ability to keep groups spaced enough so that everyone feels they are all alone in the woods.  Trotterville is definitely worth a visit in 2014. 
Trotterville Horror
Date visited: 10-18-2014
Submitted by: krb187


Scare Factor: 5/5
So far, this has been the most I’ve jumped all year at a haunt. I would say 5 or 6 times they got me very, very well with perfectly time props and actors. The trail keeps a pretty constant flow from the moment you step in until the very end with very few dead spots and a near constant barrage of horror from every angle. The overall feel is pretty creepy in itself and it is just amplified by effective props and sets and unrelenting actors that seem to fill every dark corner. One thing is for sure, if you go through Trotterville they are going to scare you, it’s just a matter of when.


Actors: 4.5/5
The actors at Trotterville (and trust me, there are plenty of them) are very invested in their craft. You can tell from the moment you arrive that they love what they do and are very good at it. The clowns were hilarious and cackled with glee at every scare, the hillbillies had that perfect southern draw, and others made some of the most inhuman noises I have ever heard come out of a person. They are very good at attacking from all angles from the front to the back, both sides, and even from above. I do feel that some of the actors could have been a little more aggressive and in your face instead of just getting the pop scare and then going back to position. I have to give a special shout out to the line actor with the long hair and two machetes. He literally just walked by these two girls in front of us and gave them a passing glance and they left before the haunt even opened. He then proceeded to chase them both all the way back to their car at a full sprint and that made my night before I even got into the actual haunt.


Set Design/Props/FX: 4.5/5
Trotterville is another one of those haunts that has that backwoods old-school flavor that I love so much. The sets are so beautifully dirty and detailed that they have this decaying feel to them that is, in my opinion, downright intimidating. There were a lot of clever usage of set design for the actual way you navigate through the haunt, with fake exits and a few rooms that seem to have no way out, only to open up in the most unexpected places (with the fridge being my absolute favorite). The couch gag is ingenious and got me to jump and the gargoyle is a favorite as always. The corn maze is my favorite of any haunt and there’s no feeling quite like coming out of the blackout maze and seeing nothing but rows and rows of corn in front of you with the moonlight shining in rays over the top of it; gives me chills every time. There are 2 reasons that this isn’t a 5: first of all, my group ran into another group in the corn maze because we were both lost and I feel that if they had one actor at the end to re-split the groups and correct the spacing it would really help the timing of the rest of the trail, my group just stood at the end for a while and waited for the other group to get ahead of us. Secondly, for as awesome as the entire haunt was the ending fell completely flat for me. The last room, while incredibly creepy (I HATE dolls) had zero scares and left me literally asking ‘Is that it?’ as I walked out. I would love to see it end with a great scare like was had in the rest of the haunt to send me out with the same adrenaline and excitement that I had through the entire thing.


Length: 5/5
We were told that Trotterville was 1 and a half miles long this year, and that is the longest trail that I’ve done this year if I’m not mistaken. That is an amazing length and the trail is stellar every inch of it. By the time I got out I was tired and sweaty and couldn’t have been more pumped up.


Value: 5/5
Ticket prices are $15 and $20 depending on the night that you go and there are $5 coupons on the website. Even if you paid the full $20 that is still a steal for Trotterville and you are going to get every single cent of your money’s worth.


Other:
Parking is free, very organized, and has probably the nicest parking attendant I’ve ever seen. There are concessions as well as merchandise for sale and a last ride simulator all on site.


Overall: 5/5
Last year Trotterville was my favorite haunt that I attended and so far it’s looking to be my favorite again this year. Everything about this place is firing on all cylinders from the gritty sets, to the insane actors, to the ingenious props that you won’t see coming. Nearly every second is packed with aggressive in your face scares that will leave you catching your breath and begging for more. Trotterville Horror is not one to be missed
Trotterville Horror
Date Visited: 10/16/14
Submitted by: jonesm


Scare Factor: 4.5/5
Trotterville has always had sort of a brutal feel about it.  Everything is delightfully old school, and while I can think of other haunts that take glee in your fear, I've always thought that this one seems like they'd like to keep you there and, you know…do things to you.  It makes for a more heightened sense of looking over the shoulder, just to be sure.  The found, rough hewn feel of everything just keeps you more on your guard.  And I mean that completely as a compliment!


Actors: 4.5/5
Same thing as above, you always feel the disappointment from the actors when they have to (eventually) walk away and let you go forward, and that gives them an edge you feel as you go through the trail.  Also, I noticed several occasions where the actors worked well in pairs, with one nailing the front of the line, and another coming up from the back or side to capitalize on the misdirection.  It's clearly a well coached cast across the board.  Special bonus points for the best chainsaw guy of the year!  I was a little behind the scare, but this guy comes shooting out of an old building and the chainsaw bursts into action in mid air, no windup or telling cranking beforehand.  So far, it was the best pop scare of the season for me, so kudos to that guy!


Sets/Props/FX: 5/5
Can't say enough good things about the sets at Trotterville!  As I said the first time I went years ago, they have the best trash around!  There's so many piles of old rusted out parts of things that it can really get tough to keep your bearings at times.  This year I noticed an entire truck cab that looked just lining the trail that looked like an elephant took a seat on it.  Stuff like that helps with the tone of the place so very much, and this really is the best at that.  Great corn maze, excellent shacks throughout, really good misdirection built right into the sets…I really love this place!


Length: 5/5
They always tell you it's a mile and a half walk through the trail, and I always think, no way is it that long.  Then when I get done, sweaty and breathing hard, I think maybe they're right on with that.  The trail is long. Really long.  You won't have an issue with that whatsoever.


Value: 5/5
I think it's a great value!  $15-20 depending on when in the season you go, and there's a $5 coupon online and free parking.  I think it presents like a church-league trail, but performs like one of the heavy hitters, and is good and long.  I think it has excellent value.


Overall: 4.5/5
Trotterville is a highlight every year.  It's not pretentious at all, and it functions like spook trails ought to, on heart and ingenuity.  It's not really near anything, but if you can get out to it, I think it's totally worth the trip!  It's the best purely old school haunt in the area.
Trotterville Horror
Submitted by: Screaming_Diana
Date Attended: 10/16/2014
 
Scare Factor:  5/5
I’d like to say I walked right through this haunt without screaming, running, or being scared but I’d be lying.  The truth is I went through terrified, screaming, hands over my ears, with my eyes tightly closed for a large portion of the trail.  At one point I was crouched on the ground unable to move while surrounded by monsters.  Even the name Trotterville sounds scary.  They’ve changed the trail up this year so even if you’ve been in previous years you’ll experience new props, sets, and scares this season.
 
Actors:  5/5
There’s a lot of ground to cover but they’ve got enough actors to keep this long trail alive.  The actors work together to produce much more effective scares than any actor could do alone.  The actor hanging out by the ticket booth didn’t appear very scary until we were leaving and he followed me to the car and proceeded to terrorize me until we finally drove away.  As we were driving off he ran back for one final scare.  Even the little line monster scared me a half dozen times popping in and out from behind the privacy fence.   Most pop scares were immediately followed by another pop scare or usually a much more intense scare.  Most actors continued to terrorize my group after the initial scare even if that meant following us to the next set.  One monster followed me through several sets and showed back up at the end just to let me know he hadn’t forgotten about me.  I hadn’t forgotten about him either.  I don’t know what he looked like but I can clearly remember his voice.  Someone in my group mentioned seeing clowns but I never saw them.  I guess my eyes were closed through that section.  All of the masks I saw were great and the big bunny costume was fantastic.  The zombies look amazing and make some really really strange noises. 
 
Set Design/Props/FX:  5/5
It’s not fancy but it’s perfect.  Who needs fancy when you’ve got dark woods, lots of old partially dilapidated barns, old car parts, barrels, and all kinds of other fantastic junk.  Don’t get me wrong they’ve got some great sets and some really cool animatronics but the best part is the natural setting with all the random stuff thrown around.  It’s old school and it works.  Several times they used simple basic props to distract you so an actor could appear from another direction and scare the crap out of you.  The sets are designed with lots of visible hiding spots for monsters which make it very difficult to know where the next scare will be coming from.  More than once I looked around cautiously trying to see where a monster might be only to discover he was hanging right over my head.  The vibrating ground was a cool added touch this year.  They’ve got two mazes.  One is a corn maze with some crazy Wrong Turn looking creatures that are great at misdirecting you.  I’m not exaggerating when I say these guys are crazy.  The other maze is less monster inhabited but it is very dark, long, and narrow in places.   Oh and Gargoyle I will always remember you. 
 
Length:  5/5
I was exhausted by the end.  We were told it was 1.5 miles of wooded trails.  Wear your hiking shoes and you should be just fine. 
 
Value:  5/5
No complaints on price here.  It’s $20 general admission on peak nights and $15 on Thursdays and Sundays.  They have special pricing for kids, police, fire, and EMT personnel and military get in free with proper ID.  They offer special group rates and have a $5 off coupon on their website.  It’s worth every bit of $20. 
 
Other:
Parking is free!  We went on a Thursday night and there was very little wait time in line. 
 
Overall Impression:  5/5
Trotterville is a long, dark, self-guided, terrifying adventure through the woods.  It’s the perfect location for an old school type haunt.  They were allowing people to go through in small groups so everyone in the group had the chance to experience the scares.  I will say I was hoping for something more at the end but maybe that’s part of the thrill.  Waiting and waiting with anticipation for something to happen.  Even though the trail didn’t end with a bang there’s a ton of amazing props and well trained actors to keep you entertained throughout the trail.  My group had a great time and I will be back next year.  Good job Trotterville you scared the pee out of me…again! 
Trotterville Horror
submitted by: packbacker
Date visited: 10/16/14


Scare Factor: 4.5/5
Screaming, urinating, and running off the trail.....our group experienced the works at Trotterville.  The scares here are a good mixture of actor driven versus prop driven.  Without giving too much away there was a fantastic diversionary scare where what I thought was a missed opportunity or broken prop turned into half the group screaming in terror at the unseen actor.  The gargoyle, a couch gag, a well timed chainsaw, and more left a few in our group kind of petrified.  There is very little downtime between sets so you stay on edge throughout.  Scares are also not always brief- if they smell fear they are going to get in your face and let you move forward when they are good and ready.  The missing 0.5 points comes from a bit of a let-down at the end.  The last set, while creepy looking, features zero scares and misses that big finale scare that caps off the experience.  I'd love to find a final scare that sends grown men running like little girls into the parking lot.  


Actors: 4.5/5
The woods were pretty full the night we attended.  One set was empty but otherwise each one had an appropriate number of actors.  A few settled for just a quick pop scare with no follow-up but when they worked in pairs (or more!) these guys had a great timing and interplay.  One would assault the front, one the back, and then they'd meet in the middle when the chicken person started screaming.  They also did a good job stalking or circling behind their scene to re-pop at the end.  The corn maze folks verbally interacted well with guests.  


Sets/Props/Fx: 5/5
Trotterville does an execellent job of mixing old and new.  The majority of the trail is lovingly "old-school" utilizing dark woods, plywood buildings, and an eclectic junkyard treasure trove- old cars, rotten couches, big metal drums, and so forth.  It doesn't sound all that great but it gives an authentic backwoods / "House of 1000 Corpses" vibe to the trail.  Peppered throughout the trail, though, are some high quality props that can catch you by surprise including a vibrating floor and the immensely awesome gargoyle.


Length: 5/5
One and a half miles through the woods and corn.  It's probably the longest trail I do all year.  You get your exercise and it's never dull.  I left the woods covered in sweat and happily exhausted.  


Value: 5/5
Trotterville admission runs $15 to $20 depending on when you visit but there is a $5 coupon available on the website.  I'd wager that this is the longest $15 trail in the state and it's constant action and fun.


Other:
Free parking!  There is a concessions stand and a last ride simulator on site as well as a loud sound system kicking out Rob Zombie while you wait in line or recover after the haunt.  


Overall: 5/5
Long, brutal, fun, and visually stimulating, Trotterville Horror delivers an eclectic mix of old school and new school scares.  A long walking trail, two mazes, a plethora of actors and some great props will leave even the most jaded haunt-goer smiling at the end.  Excellent line management keeps groups well spaced so that you get the enjoyment of a bigger haunt with the smaller haunt feel.  You're also going to get a work-out for your money!

Trotterville Horror
Date attended: 10-18-2014
Submitted by: weresheep

Scare Factor: 5/5
This place is an adventure.  It’s a long trail with a wide variety of different sets and things to explore.  There are plenty of places where you can be distracted by one thing only to be scared by another. We never knew what to expect next. In more than one room we were trapped and only allowed to exit when shown which way to go which was great at disorienting our group. The whole place gives a feel of being trapped in a horror movie with no escape.

Actors: 4/5
They have a great number of actors all appropriately placed which is impressive for such a long haunt. The actors are very in your face and play each character well. The characters in the carnival give that demented jovial vibe and the junkyard hillbillies actual looked like someone you’d see in such a place. Some spaces that could have used a good scare lacked an actor, such as the building after the junkyard and a campground area. 

Set Design/Props/FX: 5/5
Trotterville is excellent at “working with what they have”.  A lot of the sets are simple yet so wonderfully organized that it gives it an even creepier vibe. The whole thing gives you that dirty, grimy feeling. They have the works, a crazy hillbilly junkyard complete with trash can fires, a blackout maze, corn field and even a creepy carnival with games. There were several well placed and very unsettling props throughout. However, the end was a bit lacking. My favorite thing though was the area with the bunnies. I have been waiting to see a haunt use animals somewhere.  It amplified that nasty feel even further and gave you a feeling that they might just throw you in a cage too!

Length: 5/5
At a mile and a half long, it’s definitely one of the longest haunts but it’s not a difficult trek. There are few dull spots and it seems like you are walking further and further into madness.

Value: 5/5
Ticket prices range from $20 to $15 and they also have coupons and special pricing available. You definitely get the full experience here and it’s worth it.

Overall: 5/5
This was my favorite last year and it’s even better this year. It’s long, gritty and has an old school feel to it that makes you feel like you stepped into a movie. Even waiting in line here was a pleasure. Be prepared for an exciting adventure with relentless actors in a horrifying environment.

 Logged

Trotterville Horror

Date attended 10/14/12



Scare Factor: 4/5
Wow.  Trotterville Horror, for me, has done a complete 180 in almost all departments since last  year.  The scares are amped up both in number and intensity.  It's mid-season, but this haunt owns my personal scare to date so far.  I won't give it away but I did not see it coming....which takes a lot of work.  Trotterville did an excellent job scaring in multiple ways.  There was excellent use of sound and also distractions where the scares come from unexpected areas.  They also do a good job of disorientation with a "mist room", a pitch black maze area, and well placed actors who had a much better sense of timing this year for completing the scare.  I do think that the trail needs to end with a bang...it's kind of a letdown after the scare that I can't reveal.  Just stick a chainsaw at the end so you can have patrons running and screaming into the parking lot!



Actors: 4/5
The past two years this has been far and away the weakest part of the haunt.  I actually took someone there tonight for "practice" in terms of not getting scared as in years past the actors have been out of character, give up easily, and don't time things well.  Whoops.  These folks brought their A game.....on a slow Thursday night.  That takes discipline!  The actors in the corn maze did a fantastic job....they could ad-lib, scare, but also direct you when you needed assistance getting the heck outta dodge.  Most of the other actors on the trail didn't talk but did a good job of pursuing the scare but also really had their timing down pat.  No breaking of character was also paramount- in years past we had folks literally using their cell phones pre/post pop-scare.  You could tell a lot of work has gone into changing the culture-  all for the best.  I honestly couldn't be more shocked and pleased at how well these guys performed tonight especially based on past experiences at this haunt.  It also needs to be pointed out that the numbers of actors seem to be perfect.  There was an incredible amount of dead space in previous years.  This year there was enough for you to recover but actors were spaced appropriately and the numbers were just right.



Sets/Props/FX: 5/5
Trotterville is a old-school "spook trail" with the majority of the trail leading through the back-woods of Archdale, NC.  Every little bit you come up to a shack that has a scene in it...and a scare.  They make excellent use of the darkness and the woods.  They do, however, use some great props...notably the scare I can't give away.  Several of the sets are minimal but highly effective.  There are junked cars littering the trail, a room full of busted televisions, a prolonged "closet", and various other scenes.  The mist/smoke room looks amazing (and works so much better occupied!).  There is a set using mirrors which was incredibly disorienting and hellacioulsy effective.  The cemetery set-up with zombies rising from the earth was awesome.  I wanted to stop and admire but I was being pushed and prodded further.  Same with the "exploding sofa".  I do miss what we dubbed the meth trailer- that set was just white-trash amazing in years past.  Most of it was "low-tech" but it works and it works well.  I don't need to nor want to see huge expensive props out in the woods.  I want bloody cars, darkness, and screams. Score.  



Length: 5/5
I was sweating at the end.  It's a longggg trail and with the corn maze (short corn this year!) the time you spend in there can be significant.  I didn't time it but I think we were in the attraction for about 40 minutes. 


Overall: 4/5
I am so glad I returned this year.  Honestly last year was a let-down and I was coming this year for a minor diversion on a Sunday night and a low scare evening to re-coup after a big scare evening last night.  Instead I got to see a trail very similar to the one we visited last night with improved scares, actors, sets, and lots of screaming.  I just wanted to high-five people as I left.  Maybe we just caught the perfect storm with a slow night so there was extra attention but I'm guessing that anyone who enjoys old school spook trails needs to visit this haunt.  You can feel the heart put into it....and I can see the transformation they made from a loosey-goosey poorly staffed trail in the past to one who has made the commitment to scaring people.  Bravo.


And I forgot.....a clown on stilts!  How could I forget the clown on stilts?!  On the trail, in the middle of the woods...a clown on stilts!


___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Trotterville Horror Haunted Attraction Season 5

Date visited:  Saturday, October 13, 2012 about 11pm



Scare Factor 4/5 - I'm inspired by the complete overhaul from 2011, which was a top pick then!  Now you've done it, blown open the lid and shown the world that you are one haunt to be reckoned with!  At arrival we got the "greetment" from the super tall and super sinister clown on stilts and the red and black-faced clownette girl who stalked and shadowed me like crazy glue.  Every time I turned around I jumped because one of them was taunting me and hovering in my space.  Trotterville’s Horror Haunted Attraction forks over scene after scene of both interactive and spooky sets; delivering plenty of shock and jolt whammies. I experienced a series of “whoas!” screams, and jumps with all the unexpected surprises along the way.  In the blackout maze and other interactive sets I felt some claustrophia, disorientation, and panic.  In the corn hunt, I got the sense of being chased.  In the wild closet and mirror maze I felt paranoid, trapped, and wonderfully confused.  The completely new aftermath hallucination sets – this must be what happens when meth really fries the brain!  Overall, I was thoroughly entertained, as was the entire group!  When we weren’t screaming, we were laughing or holding our breath, just having a darn good time out there in dem dar woods.

Actors 4.5/5 – Actor timing is impeccable.  Actors aim to scare and scare they do.  They seem to have a sense of team that was missing in 2011, and a sense of purpose.  Except there’s one point where I don’t really get the actor purpose.  The corn hunt actors rush at us with goalie hands, but I’m not sure if I’m supposed to go or stop or if we are playing a game.  The corn hunt happens in real corn, which is unique, but it’s not tall enough to hide the corn gang standing around all dressed in black.  It felt more like a fun game of cat and mouse than a scary corn hunt.  What did get me was one actor who popped up at us from inside the corn which was different from what the others were doing.  The good ol’ boy and his mean dog?  I was splitting over sideways– it was over-the-top- awesome!  The whole group was “had” in that one shot!  But, that story part borders on too long because some of us have ADD, so even though it’s real fun, any longer there and I might be wandering off into the distance…

Set Design/Props/FX  5/5 - The way Trotterville and only Trotterville has that special “backwoods” theme; that artistic haunt design mindset for building in other people’s junk to create nifty sets, props and interactive experiences with metal stuff, old clothes, trailers, and junky furniture to produce unrepeatable scares is an enterprise unto itself.  But, I wanted to knock off a whole point here because someone in my group told me that Trotterville used to have an underground tunnel that got taken out because people complained that they got all dirty.  And, so far this year props have spit, sneezed and sprayed blood on me (with water sprays I hope); old city water pipes have almost let loose over my head; actors have literally burped right in my face; and I have crawled through pipes in haunts before and gotten my pants dirty! If you got it, bring it on.
 
Length 5/5 – Perfect length, no idea how long on the trail exactly, maybe 35 minutes.   But, not only was it more than satisfying once I got in, the fun and creeps I got in the waiting area and fun afterwards buying a hoodie and talking to the staff made my night.  

Value 5/5 – For $15-$20 depending on the night you go (look for the $5 off coupon) for what you get, you just can’t shake a stick at this.  Free parking, too!

Other – Don’t expect any foo-foo waiting area.  They do have some good rock music, but it’s no amusement park when you get here.  NOTE:  On November 2 and 3rd, Trotterville is having a “Lights Out Harvest Night”, which if I got this right, means no holds-barred.  Actors touch you and you get it full-on.  Check in with their web site for more details.

Overall 4.5/5 – So far, this is my #1 haunted trail for 2012.  I’ve only been to 6 haunted trails in NC so far in 2012, so it’s not fair to give my end-of-season vote yet, and I’ve got a few more yet to visit.  But for what it is and what it’s billed to be, Trotterville delivers the most realistic haunted trail experience, just like the backwoods should.


___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Trotterville Horror Haunted Attraction
Date attended 10/14/2012



Scare Factor- 5/5  This is absolutely the scariest haunted attraction I have lived through yet.  I literally left crying.  I was scared the entire time but the Gargoyle scene was almost more than I could take.   It’s not that hard to scare me or even make me scream but it takes a lot to make me cry and Trotterville did it.  

Actors- 5/5  The actors here did an amazing job.  There are a lot of actors throughout the trail and even a few that showed up more than once I think.  These monsters followed us around forever.  They whispered in my ears, got in my face, and loved making loud banging noises that made my heart sink every time.  At one point I decided I wanted to turn around and go back but when I turned around there were three monsters standing behind me.  There was no turning back at this point.  I have no idea how long those monsters followed behind us.  The actors in the corn field would not let up.  They sent us in all the wrong directions just so they would have more time to torture us.  The actors know exactly when to pop out and scare you.  Their timing was perfect.  The monsters in the corn maze reminded me of the cannibals in the movie Wrong Turn.  They even talked about eating people.  It was just creepy. 

Set Design/Props/FX- 5/5  The sets here are amazing.  The fog room was great.  You can’t see anything until you are right up on it.  There are monsters hiding in the fog but you won’t realize it until they are right in front of your face.  After this I will think twice before driving down a foggy road.   I was so scared I can’t even remember a lot of the scenes.  I had my face and ears covered most of the time.  The best (or worst) part of the haunt was the gargoyle scene.  I hope I never see it again.  I will have nightmares about this for weeks maybe even years.  

Length- 5/5 The length is perfect.  There were enough actors and props to keep this trail exciting the entire time.  We went on a Sunday which appeared to be a very light night and there was no waiting in line.  

Value- 5/5  This is a great value.  The night we went admission was $15 which was great.  General admission for adults is $20 for peak nights and it’s worth every penny! 

Overall Impression-5/5  If you can make it through this haunt without getting scared you are not normal.  If you love getting scared this is the place for you.  I was so scared I don’t know if I will ever go back.  I was so shook up I could barely drive home.  Good job Trotterville!  You almost scared me to death!